Collection

The collection of the IKOB is a visual reflection upon the history of the museum. With more than 400 works, it expresses the artistic, political and, not least of all, the geographic orientation of the museum, its situation at the border between various cultural spaces and the ensuing confrontation between various independent and mutually enriching artistic scenes. The collection contains works by artists from Belgium, the Netherlands, France, Luxembourg and Germany – featuring such well-known names as Günther Förg, Guillaume Bijl, Christo & Jeanne-Claude, Jacques Charlier and Jonathan Meese – and including all contemporary media.

Standing at the beginning of the history of the IKOB collection is an end: It was donations by artists after the realization of exhibitions that introduced the transformation of the earlier IKOB – International Art Center in Eastern Belgium, an exhibition platform without its own space, into a full-fledged museum. After twelve years, the time had come: The IKOB – Museum of Contemporary Art was born. And the gradual gathering of works of art now gave rise to a respectable museum collection.

The collection of the IKOB bears witness to the spirit of friendliness that connects the institution with its artists. It is important to preserve this tradition and to combine it with the demands made upon a museum of contemporary art.

Sort: Artist / Title / Year

Collection

La collection de l’IKOB est une réflexion en images sur l’histoire du musée. Riche de plus de 400 œuvres, elle incarne l’orientation artistique, politique, mais aussi géographique de l’IKOB grâce à sa localisation à la frontière de différentes régions culturelles et la confrontation qui en résulte – celle de milieux artistiques à la fois distincts et s’enrichissant mutuellement. La collection, au sein de laquelle tous les médias contemporains sont représentés, comporte des œuvres d’artistes belges, néerlandais, français, luxembourgeois et allemands, avec des noms connus : Günther Förg, Guillaume Bijl, Christo & Jeanne-Claude, Jacques Charlier ou Jonathan Meese.

Cette collection a pour point de départ une fin. En effet, c’est grâce aux dons d’œuvres effectués par les artistes une fois les expositions terminées, que l’ancien IKOB (internationales Kunstzentrum Ostbelgien, Centre international d’Art de la Communauté Germanophone de Belgique) devient après douze ans, à partir d’une plateforme d’exposition sans locaux propres, un musée à part entière : l’IKOB – Musée d’Art Contemporain. Les œuvres qui lui sont confiées au fil des années forment aujourd’hui une collection remarquable.

Cette dernière témoigne des rapports amicaux que l’IKOB entretient avec ses artistes. L’institution tient à perpétuer cette tradition tout en répondant aux attentes du public à l’égard d’un musée d’art contemporain.

Critères: Artiste / Titre / Année / Origin